Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Event Recap

This workshop focused on the application of core economic tools to address questions that are of interest to researchers and policymakers alike. It met weekly on Tuesdays from 3:30 to 5 p.m., in Saieh Hall Room 146.

Agenda

Tuesday, March 7, 2017
Cool to be Smart or Smart to be Cool? Understanding Peer Pressure in Education
Leonardo Bursztyn, Professor in Economics and the College, the Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics
Tuesday, March 14, 2017
Mechanism Design Meets Development: Selective Trials for Technology Diffusion
Pascaline Dupas, Stanford University
Tuesday, March 28, 2017
Provider Incentives and Healthcare Costs: Evidence from Long-Term Care Hospitals
Neale Mahoney, Professor of Economics and David G. Booth Faculty Fellow, Booth School of Business; Co-Director of BFI Health Economics Initiative
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Media Capture through Favor Exchange
Adam Szeidl, Central European University
Tuesday, April 11, 2017
Complexity and Sophistication
Dan Silverman, Arizona State University
Tuesday, April 18, 2017
The More We Die, The More We Sell? A Simple Test of the Home-Market Effect
Heidi Williams, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tuesday, April 25, 2017
Equilibrium Provider Networks: Bargaining and Exclusion in Health Care Markets
Kate Ho, Columbia University
Tuesday, May 2, 2017
Measuring Physician Quality
Joseph Doyle, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tuesday, May 9, 2017
Demand- and Supply-Side Policies to Tackle Youth Unemployment: Evidence from a Labor Market Experiment in Uganda
Imran Rasul, University College of London
Tuesday, May 16, 2017
Diversity or Diversion? Assessing Mismatch at Chicago Exam Schools
Parag Pathak, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tuesday, May 23, 2017
Intergenerational Mobility and Preferences for Redistribution
Stefanie Stantcheva, Professor of Economics, Harvard University
Tuesday, May 30, 2017
Combating Rumors: Evidence from a Field Experiment During the Indian Demonetization
Arun Chandrasekhar, Stanford University