Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Event Recap

This workshop focused on the application of core economic tools to address questions that are of interest to researchers and policymakers alike. It met weekly on Tuesdays from 3:30 to 5 p.m., in Saieh Hall Room 146.

Agenda

Tuesday, March 13, 2018
Who Benefits From Productivity Growth? The Direct and Indirect Effects of Local TFP Shocks
Enrico Moretti, University of California, Berkeley
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
China's Lost Generation: Changes in Beliefs and their Intergenerational Transmission
Gérard Roland, University of California, Berkeley
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
On Her Account: Can Strengthening Women's Financial Control Boost Female Labor Supply?
Rohini Pande, Professor of Public Policy, Harvard Kennedy School
Tuesday, April 10, 2018
Accounting for Factorless Income (with Loukas Karabarbounis)
Brent Neiman, Professor of Economics, Booth School of Business; Director of BFI International Economics Initiative
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Selection into Credit Markets: Evidence from Agriculture in Mali
Chris Udry, Northwestern University
Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Demand for Electricity in a Poor Economy: Evidence from Rural India's Competitive Retail Power Market
Michael Greenstone, The Milton Friedman Distinguished Service Professor in Economics and the College, the Kenneth C. Griffin Department of Economics and the Harris Public Policy; Director of the Becker Friedman Institute; Director of the Energy Policy Institute at Chicago (EPIC)
Tuesday, May 1, 2018
The Geography of Path Dependence (joint work with Treb Allen)
Dave Donaldson, MIT
Tuesday, May 8, 2018
Tax-Exempt Lobbying: Corporate Philanthropy as a Tool for Political Influence
Marianne Bertrand, Chris P. Dialynas Distinguished Service Professor of Economics, University of Chicago Booth School of Business
Tuesday, May 15, 2018
The Limits of Neighborly Exchange
Supreet Kaur, University of California, Berkeley
Tuesday, May 22, 2018
Why Do People Stay Poor
Robin Burgess, London School of Economics
Tuesday, May 29, 2018
The Opportunity Atlas: How Do Neighbors Shape Upward Mobility?
John Friedman, Brown University